catherine pizzinat

“I have been dancing since I was 2 years old. I dance because, whenever I dance, I get this feeling and there’s nothing quite like it. It makes me feel so happy and free. To dance with all my friends is the best feeling in the world.

I think my greatest accomplishment in dance was making the top 4 in Teen Dance Star (local dance competition). I was unsure about auditioning originally, because I was scared to, and I wasn’t sure that I was going to make it into the top 10. Once I made it in, it was such an amazing feeling- and the fact that I made it to the top 4 too… I was really happy!

The hardest part about dance for me is probably the commitment, because there is so much time at the studio and in rehearsals. So if you have any outside commitments, you really just have to put dance first. It has to be your number one priority no matter what your situation is.

Something other than dance that I like… I have to go with food, especially ice cream. Chocolate is really good too. I really like to hang out with friends- go on hikes, go to the beach, go to the movies, anything like that. I don’t do any other sports because dance is a full time commitment.

I wear Grishko 2007 pointe shoes, and I really like them because they provide a good arch for my feet, and i’ve been wearing this brand for about 2 years-ish. Ever since I got them, I have really liked them!

I would describe myself as pretty hard working. In school and at dance, if I have a goal, I try everything possible to reach that goal. I feel like I’m pretty determined. I normally have a smile on my face, so that means I’m happy most of the time. I think I’m funny and I laugh at my own jokes a lot, but maybe that’s just me.”

catherine onstage this past weekend in SSBYD’s production of “Celebration of Dance.”

MY NOTES: I asked Catherine if she would do this interview, highlighting her dance career, because she is the most dedicated young ballerina I know. For someone who has had so many bruised and fallen off toenails from pointe, she is still so driven and never lets anything stand in her way. She is so graceful and I really enjoy watching her perform. When she dances, you can see her passion through her emotion and movement. I met Catherine through dance, and I have seen her grow as a dancer for the past 6 years. She has improved tremendously because of her work ethic and devotion to her pointe shoes. Not only is she loyal to her talent and goals, but also her friends, including myself. She is just as sweet a girl as she is a dancer, and I am so thankful to have her in my life!

Leave a Reply

